TOW 5

June 30, 2010 at 1:17 am (PRCA 3330 Topic of the Week)

          During week four we completed one week of Twitter in which we set up a Twitter account and sent at least twenty tweets along with responding to at least five tweets that our classmates posted and then blog about our experience for our fifth topic of the week. I have had some prior experience with Twitter before this week but I still learned a lot during my time during this activity.

      I found myself thinking of random things that I wanted to Tweet throughout my day but by the time I got to my computer, I would forget half of them. In order to solve this problem I chose the option to be able to send Tweets from my cell phone. I do not have internet access on my phone; pretty much all it does is make calls, send texts, and take pictures. I can’t even send or recieve picture messages because of the lack of internet access on my cell phone so I was very suprised that I was able send Tweets through the same device. The Tweets are sent through texts messages not the internet so that is how I was able to have such easy mobile access to Twitter.

          On any other week I would send Tweets randomly as I pleased but this week we were required to complete a certain amount of Tweets so I had to think about it a lot more often. I tried to Tweet about things that were more interesting than something like, “I had this for lunch today” and it was actually harder than I thought it would be. Normally I will send a Tweet here and there and not even think about the level of professionalism that it reflects back on me. This week however I tried to Tweet about something that caught my interest or any interesting facts that I may have come across.

          I think that Twitter is the future in social networking and it is very important for a public relations professional to be familiar with how to use this website. Twitter makes it easy to keep in touch with other people and follow along with things that they feel are important enough to share with the world.

Leave a Reply

