About ME!

June 1, 2010 at 6:36 pm (PRCA 3330 Personal)

         Hello everyone! Just wanted to give a little bit of background information to everyone who happens to come across my blog.. My name is Lauren O’Sullivan and I am a 20-year-old PR student at Georgia Southern University. I’ve been going to school and living in Statesboro for almost three years now and I love my life here at GSU. Before college I lived in Woodstock, Ga (a little north of Atlanta) for about 16 years. I was born in Massachusetts and lived in Norton, Ma until I was two and my parents and I moved to Georgia.

         Me in a nutshell- my family and friends are everything to me, I wouldn’t be who I am today if it wasn’t for all of them! I grew up living with my mother, father, and my younger sister Erin in a sub-urban metro Atlanta-ish neighborhood. They have been there for me through everything along with old and new friends I’ve made over the years. My sister and I actually share a birthday, which most people can’t say about their sibling unless they’re a twin or something. We were born on the exact same day at the end of June only three years apart. I am very spontaneous at times and I can be messy when I get lazy or too busy to worry about it, but many people have that problem to a certain extent.. I love trying new things and meeting new people! I am very creative and I love looking at everyday things in unique perspectives. I believe that everything happens for a reason and people come in and out of our lives so we can learn and grow through the experiences we share. I am a very passionate person who enjoys the freedom my life allows me to have. I wouldn’t change a minute of my life, even the bad, because my experiences have taught me so much. I’m not proud of everything in my past but the mistakes I’ve made help me learn who I want to be and how I want to carry out my life. Something I place extreme value upon is staying true to who you really are. Be the person you want to be, we only get one life and I don’t want to take advantage of a single second of this life that I have been blessed with. Don’t change for anyone, its not worth it.  I appreciate everything I have because I work hard for it. I am a daughter, a sister, a friend, and most importantly, I’m true to ME!

         I loved being involved in sports when I was growing up; I’ve tried everything from ballet and gymnastics to basketball softball and soccer, but in high school I found that track, swimming, and cheerleading were the ones that I enjoyed the most. I had my first job with a steady paycheck when I was 16 years old. I worked in that restaurant for about three years and it really taught me how to manage my own money, balance time between work school and my own life, and made me grow up a little bit because of the extra responsibility. That job also made me into the hard worker that I am today, even though I hated having to work when some of my friends had free time, I’m thankful now for everything I learned from that experience.

          I hope this gives you a little insight to my life and helps explain why I am who I am. As I mentioned before I love meeting new people so feel free to let me know what you think!

 

Permalink Leave a Comment

TOW 3

June 1, 2010 at 6:25 pm (PRCA 3330 Topic of the Week)

Why are comments such an integral part of blogs? What advice would you offer on writing effective blog comments? (Be sure to link to at least two sources for your information.

          This week I will explore why comments are an interal part of blogs and also offer some advice on writing effective blog comments. Comments allow us to express our thoughts to others about their posts, receive the opinions of others, and also to aid in networking with others who share similar interests. Effective comments should be clear and get straight to the point.

          Giving comments to others about their posts allows them to see how the audience reacts to the content of their post, which helps them in forming future blog posts. This can also spark conversation among the creator of the post and those who choose to add comments.

          Comments allow us as bloggers to better understand the ways in which others form opinions about posts we create. These opinions may be supporting or opposing but either way the allow us to see both sides of issues and communicate with those who are interested in similar topics. Some comments are not only feedback about content, but about the entire blog in general. For example, someone may have a really interesting theme to their blog and others may want to know where to obtain it.

          Blog comments also provide an easy way to network and keep in touch with others. Comments on certain posts may spark conversations that could lead to further posts by others, which stir up comments. An example of networking with blog comments could be: if you come across a comment from someone you are not familiar with that gets your attention you may be promted to look at their blog. Then you might happen to see a post of theirs and choose to comment. This allows us to interact with others in different locations around the world and meet people who we may never have come across in other situations.

          In order to write effective blog comments, one must be sure to stay on topic. Keep your comments focused on the post that you are commenting on. If you wish to express an opinion about something that has to do with another topic, comment accordingly on a corresponding post. Sometimes a blogger will provide an area for general comments and you can post your thoughts in that category or even make your own post about it and ask for feedback from that person.

           There is a post on Dr. Nixon’s blog featuring ten blogging tips that will change your life (or at least your grade) that was originally  featured in Ragan’s PR Daily in December 2009. These tips, along with my own, can be extremely helpful to novice bloggers who are looking for some advice for getting started with blogging. Dr. Nixon’s blog contains not only these ten helpful hints for blogging, but many others for using wordpress and being successful in the class. I highly recommend taking a look at these tips when creating your own blog and commenting on the blogs of others!

Permalink 3 Comments